Darebin Mayor’s Writing Award Winners 2020

Event Details

The Darebin Mayor’s Writing Award is an annual award for writers who live, work or study in the City of Darebin. This year’s theme was Change. Over 177 entries were received, an increase of over 70, from 2019. Now in its sixth year the awards were adapted to support broader participation and to generate creative opportunities locally during social isolation regulations. We extended the entry deadline, expanded the prize pool and enabled more winning works to be highlighted, further celebrating local writers and the stories that make up our community.

Congratulations to Isabella Battersby and Jasmine Anoushian, winner and runner up respectively of this year’s Mayor’s Writing Awards for their outstanding work,” said Darebin Mayor Susan Rennie.

As we emerge from the lockdown, the arts, ideas and creativity will keep us connected and present for one another. We are very fortunate in Darebin to have so many talented writers offering new ways to look at life and the difficult and sometimes crazy times we are living through.

The Winners

Isabella Battersby is the First Prize Winner of $2000 cash prize for her work Bird.

Jasmine Anoushian, Second Prize of $1000 for You Could Be Here to see the World Change.

The two $500, Highly Commended awards went to Bradley David for, In these Walls and Rowan Williams for, Lens Cap of History.

Darebin thanks our expert panel of judges, made up of a diverse group of local writer/editors – Sian Prior, Adolfo Aranjuez and Susan Johnson.

Cash Prizes
• Best Concept: – ‘Bruising’ – Luke McCarthy
• Best Point Of View: – ‘Isaac’s Mind’ – Julian Bourchier
• Most Original: – ‘The Last Bird’ – Yasemin Sumner
• Best Use of Genre: – ‘The Hands of the Clock’ – Chris Gorley
• Best Voice: – ‘The Continuity of Saturday Morning Rituals’ – Kanika Chopra

Book Vouchers – from Fairfield Books
• Most Mysterious: – ‘Summer 1994’ – Bailey Dihayco
• Best Character: – ‘Privacy’ – Dawn Dawson
• Best Song: – ‘A Poem Is a Bridge’ – Matt Wicking

The new Darebin Mayor’s Writing Awards for Young People will commence in early June with a panel of local writers and a local guest author as head facilitator. This new award includes a primary and secondary school section with prizes and the further engagement opportunities offered through our webpage, for family and friends to read and enjoy the talented young writers in Darebin.

Under the current restrictions we are unable to have a public function to celebrate and hear the winning entries. We thank the authors for making their work available for the reading and writing community of Darebin to enjoy. Below you will find four winning entries available to read online.

Content warning: Adult themes and language. Some of the pieces of writing present on this page may cause distress or concern for readers. If you need to talk to someone, support is available.

Lifeline: 13 11 14 – 24/7 confidential telephone crisis support.
1800Respect: 1800 737 732 – 24/7 confidential information, counselling and support service

Read winning entries here:

First Prize Winner    Isabella Battersby            Bird

Second Prize              Jasmine Anoushian         you could be here to see the world change


Bradley David            In the Walls                    Highly Commended

Rowan Williams        Lens Cap of History         Highly Commended



The Darebin Mayor’s Writing Awards 2020 – Judging panel.

Each of the winners will be invited to have their work published in the November edition of  n-SCRIBE 15.


For enquiries please contact

Elizabeth Welch

Engagement Producer

Enquiries: writingprojects@darebin.vic.gov.au


19 May - 30 June, 2020

Darebin City Council
274 Gower St, Preston Victoria 3072

Phone: (03) 8470 8888
Fax: (03) 8470 8888