n-SCRIBE 2020

n-SCRIBE is Darebin Arts’ annual literary magazine that publishes writers with a connection to the City of Darebin. This edition is called n-SCRIBE 2020 because, like everything else, n-SCRIBE will be a bit different this year. The digital publication of n-SCRIBE 2020 is NOW LIVE! The print publication will be available from Darebin libraries, Northcote Town Hall Arts Centre, local cafes, bookshops and community hubs from February 2021.

The works in this edition were selected for publication by the n-SCRIBE Working Group using a blind submission process. This means the Working Group received no names or personal information about the writers and evaluated each work on its merits alone. The n-SCRIBE Working Group is made up of local writers, editors and publishers, supported by industry expert Managing Editor, Bridget Caldwell-Bright.

Bridget Caldwell-Bright is a Jingili and Mudburra women, she is a writer and freelance editor based in Melbourne. She has previously worked for Hardie Grant Books, Mascara Literary Review and The Lifted Brow. She was also previously co-editor for Archer Magazines First Nations Edition and managing editor for Blak Brow, a Black Women’s Collective edition of The Lifted Brow. 

Read 40 new works from local writers here:

Read n-SCRIBE 2020

Content warning: Some of the works published contain adult themes and language. This work may cause distress or concern for readers. If you need to talk to someone, support is available.

Lifeline: 13 11 14 – 24/7 confidential telephone crisis support. 1800Respect: 1800 737 732 – 24/7 confidential information, counselling and support service

We asked a few writers to read their published works.

Becki Bouchier reads her work JOGGING AT NIGHT published in n-SCRIBE 2020:

Nicholas Ling reads his works THE TREADMILL + A HAIKU FOR MA published in n-SCRIBE 2020:

Jes Layton reads his work THE MUAY THAI ‘GRUNT’ published in n-SCRIBE 2020:

Past editions of n-SCRIBE are also available to read here.

Get in touch with n-SCRIBE and/or enquire about joining next year’s Working group at writingprojects@darebin.vic.gov.au