Darebin Mayor’s Writing Award

The 2016 Darebin Mayor’s Writing Award is an annual award for writers who live, work or study in the City of Darebin.

This year’s award is for Flash Fiction. Flash Fiction is, simply, a very short story. Franz Kafka, Virginia Woolf and Ernest Hemingway have all written stories that can be read in a matter of minutes, and we can’t wait to read yours!

The winner of this year’s award will receive a prize of $2000. Additionally, two shortlisted writers will each receive a prize of $500. Entries will be judged by a panel of three professional writers: Louise Swinn, Lefa Singleton Norton and Wayne Macauley.

Entries to the 2016 Awards have now closed.

The winner will be announced at a special event on Thursday 9 June, 2016. Full details will be made available following the judging period, in the week commencing 23 May.

Enquiries: mayorswriting.award@darebin.vic.gov.au


Darebin City Council
274 Gower St, Preston Victoria 3072

Phone: (03) 8470 8888
Fax: (03) 8470 8888